Down Arrow Icon - London Core Review Cardiothoracic Surgery Course



Mr Shakil Farid is a Consultant Cardiac Surgeon at John Radcliffe Hospital with interest in complex aortic surgery. He has been a consultant at Oxford University Hospitals NHS trust since 2018.

Mr Farid graduated from University of Dhaka. He completed his cardiothoracic specialist training from Royal Papworth Hospital which is one of the largest and leading cardiac centres in the country with the best surgical outcomes in UK. He then undertook advanced fellowship in complex valvular surgery under world famous surgeon Prof Gebrine Elkhoury at Saint Luc Hospital, Brussels.

Mr Farid subspecialises in advanced aortic repairs along with complex aortic surgery. Since joining the Oxford University Hospitals NHS trust, he was instrumental in successfully introducing complex aortic surgical procedures such as the thoraflex hybrid plexus graft (frozen elephant trunk) for replacement of the aortic arch.

Mr Farid has also completed an MBA in healthcare management from University of Keele and is also a member of the Cardiac Adult Subcommittee of the Society for Cardiothoracic Surgeons of Great Britain and Ireland.

He is also the director of FRCS (Cardiothoracic surgery) clinical course in UK and chair of the surgical training committee for cardiothoracic surgery, Oxford deanery.

Mr. Farid has keen interest in medical education. He is the director of the FRCS (Cardio Thoracic) clinical examination (ST7B) preparatory course and also a member of the FRCS MCQ question writing group. He has been nominated as the trainer of the month by the Oxford deanery twice (November, 2020; January 2021).

He is also chief editor of the book “Fighting COVID-19 On the Frontline”.

He has numerous publications in peer reviewed journals and have written several book chapters.


2021 Event Lectures

MV repair in Degenerative and Ischaemic MR
Round Table Discussion
John Doty, M.D.
Mr. Aziz Momin
Mr. Alex Shipolini
Mr. John Pilling
Mr. V. Chandra
Lee McCann, M.D.
William Caine, M.D.
Rafe Connors, M.D.
Professor Brendan Madden
Mr. Shafi Mussa
David Min, M.D.
Barry Bergquist, M.D.
Mr. Simon Phillips
Mr. Rajan Sharma
Professor Gebrine El Khoury
Professor Tirone David
Professor Prakash Punjabi
James Oford MD
Professor Vinayak Bapat
Professor Aung Oo
Mr. Ranjit Deshpande
Professor Laurent De Kerchove
Professor David Taggart
Dr. Emiliano Navarra
Dr. Riyaz Kaba
Dr. Iqbal Malik
Touch Icon
Help Icon