Professor Tirone David
Featured Speaker
Professor Tirone David
Featured Speaker


Doctor Tirone E. David is a Professor of Surgery at the University of Toronto. He was born in Brazil and educated in his native country, in the United States and in Canada. His postgraduate training in surgery was at the State University of New York, Cleveland Clinic, and University of Toronto. He joined the academic staff of the University of Toronto and Toronto General Hospital in 1978, and has become one of the leading cardiac surgeons in the world. Hundreds of heart surgeons from around the globe visit his operating theatre every year and he travels extensively to demonstrate operative techniques he developed and to give lectures.

Doctor David has published over 300 peer-reviewed scientific papers, 45 chapters in medical textbooks as well as 5 surgical textbooks. He has developed numerous operative procedures to treat patients with heart valve disease, complications of myocardial infarction, and thoracic aneurysms. There is an operative procedure named after him, “the David operation”. He has been a member of the editorial board of several medical journals. In 2004-5 he was President of the American Association for Thoracic Surgery, the most prestigious society of thoracic surgeons. Doctor David is a member of numerous professional societies. He is an honorary member of the European Cardio-thoracic Association, the Brazilian Cardiovascular Society, the Italian Society for Cardiac Surgery, the Southern Thoracic Surgical Association and the German Society of Thoracic and Cardiovascular Surgery. He received the Order of Ontario in 1993 and the Order of Canada in 1996. He was elected University Professor in 2004.

Areas Of Expertise



Speaker Intro Video
Speaker Intro Artwork - London Core Review Cardiothoracic Surgery Course Event
Professor Tirone David
Featured Speaker
John Doty, MD
Mr Aziz Momin
Mr Alex Shipolini
Mr John Pilling
Mr V. Chandrasekaran
Dr Lauren Tully
Dr Riyaz Kaba
Professor Karen Redmond
Mr Shakil Farid
Lee McCann, MD
William Caine, MD
Dr Alison Duncan
Eric Griffiths, MD
Mr Simon Wilson
Professor John Chan
Virginia R. Litle, MD
Professor Brendan Madden
Dr Dhaval Naik
Professor Vitaly A Sorokin
Mr L Balacumaraswami
Mr Shafi Mussa
Mr Simon Phillips
Daniel Gutteridge, MD
Reilly Hobbs, MD
Professor Gebrine El Khoury
Professor Prakash Punjabi
Dr Anil Jain
Dr Asraful Hoque Sium
Touch Icon
Help Icon