Professor Brendan Madden
Course Faculty
Professor Brendan Madden
Course Faculty

Clinical Interests

Professor Brendan Madden clinical interest is in complex large airway intervention using rigid and fibre optic bronchoscopy with endobronchial ND Yag laser therapy, stent deployment, fistulae closure, dilation and diagnostic techniques and foreign body retrieval. He also has interest in pulmonary hypertension.

Professional Profile

I graduated with MB, BCh, BAO (all with honours) from University College Dublin and was awarded college scholarships and prizes throughout my undergraduate career.  My initial postgraduate training was in Ireland leading to my certificate of general postgraduate medical education. I was a college tutor in Trinity College Dublin. Thereafter my postgraduate training took place at Harefield Hospital and in the  Royal Brompton National Heart and Lung Institute.  I was a  registrar and senior registrar and clinical tutor and gained a tremendous exposure to all aspects of cardiothoracic transplantation, cardiothoracic medicine and intensive care.  I have been awarded   MRCPI, FRCPI, FRCP and FFICM.  My MD research was conducted at Harefield Hospital and the Royal Liverpool University Hospital (supervisors Professor M Yacoub and Professor D Heath) and was entitled “Clinical, Pathological, Endocrinological, Immunological and Physiological Aspects of Primary Pulmonary Hypertension”.  It was awarded by University College Dublin. My MSc was in Clinical Applied Immunology and was awarded from Brunel University of London.  I am a course director and instructor for ALS, ATLS, CALS and CCrisp.  I am also an examiner and tutor in Critical Care and Physiology for the MRCS examination of the Royal College of Surgeons London.

I was appointed as the first clinical Professor of Cardiothoracic Medicine in the United Kingdom in 2007.  My unique training and clinical experience has provided me with unique skills in the diagnosis and management of patients with acute complex large airway pathologies, in the diagnosis of patients with pulmonary hypertension and their management and I have competency in all facets of cardiothoracic intensive care.

The large airway intervention programme at St George’s which I direct is one of the largest programmes of its kind in the world and publishes excellent results.  Within the past two years I have directed the amalgamation of the pulmonary hypertension programmes at St George’s and the Royal Brompton hospitals creating one of the largest centres nationally.  We are also a national centre for non-transplant endomyocardial biopsy.

I direct the Medical Laser Users Group at St George’s Hospital.

I have given over 360 lectures at major national and international scientific symposia and have published over 355 peer reviewed papers, invited articles, book chapters and abstracts. I present at the American, British and European Thoracic Society meetings on an annual basis. I supervise postgraduate research and encourage and supervise medical students to perform research projects. I organise specialist subject modules for medical students each term in pulmonary hypertension and in large airway intervention.

I organise national study days each year on pulmonary hypertension and large airway intervention.

I examine and supervise candidates preparing MD theses and have successfully supervised candidates who have obtained certification for undergraduate projects, BSc, MSc, MBA and MD higher degrees.

I have successfully obtained multiple grants from industry and from within the scientific community.

Speaker Intro Video
Speaker Intro Artwork - London Core Review Cardiothoracic Surgery Course Event
Professor Brendan Madden
Course Faculty
John Doty, MD
Mr Aziz Momin
Mr Alex Shipolini
Mr John Pilling
Mr V. Chandrasekaran
Dr Lauren Tully
Dr Riyaz Kaba
Professor Karen Redmond
Mr Shakil Farid
Lee McCann, MD
William Caine, MD
Dr Alison Duncan
Eric Griffiths, MD
Mr Simon Wilson
Professor John Chan
Virginia R. Litle, MD
Dr Dhaval Naik
Professor Vitaly A Sorokin
Mr L Balacumaraswami
Mr Shafi Mussa
Mr Simon Phillips
Daniel Gutteridge, MD
Reilly Hobbs, MD
Professor Tirone David
Professor Gebrine El Khoury
Professor Prakash Punjabi
Dr Anil Jain
Dr Asraful Hoque Sium
Touch Icon
Help Icon